The AFA is a grassroots initiative driven by individuals who are building a home for Asian films and a haven for independent filmmakers, to share, inspire and create.

Board of Directors

Glen Goei

Co-Artistic Director, Wild Rice

Oh Chong Onn

Deputy Director, National Library Board

Prof Adam Knee (PhD, NYU)

Dean, Faculty of Fine Arts, Media & Creative Industries, LASALLE College of the Arts

Alicia Yeo

Director, National Library

Han Minli

Director, Filmgarde Cineplexes

Julia Chee

Director, National Archives of Singapore

William Phuan

Executive Director, National Book Council

International Advisory Panel

Apichatpong Weerasethakul


Aruna Vasudev
(PhD, University of Paris)

President of NETPAC (Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema)

Chris Berry (PhD, UCLA)

Professor of Film and Television Studies, Goldsmiths College, University of London

Chua Beng Huat (PhD, York)

Professor of Sociology, National University of Singapore

Chua Tat Seng (PhD, Leeds)

Professor, School of Computing, National University of Singapore

David Bordwell (PhD, Iowa)

Jacques Ledoux Professor of Film Studies, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Howard Besser
(PhD, UC Berkeley)

Director of New York University’s Moving Image Archiving & Preservation Program

Jan Uhde (PhD, University
of Waterloo)

Professor of Film Studies, University of Waterloo

Kenneth Chan (PhD, Florida)

Professor Emeritus of English and Film Studies, Department of English, University of Northern Colorado

Kenneth Paul Tan
(PhD, Cambridge)

Professor, Academy of Film and Department of Government and International Studies, Hong Kong Baptist University

Lim Song Hwee
(PhD, Cambridge)

Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ray Edmondson (PhD, Canberra)

Founding Chair of Southeast Asia Pacific Audio Visual Archive Association (SEAPAVAA) and Honorary Curator Emeritus of National Film and Sound Archive

Rey Chow (PhD, Stanford)

Andrew W. Mellon Distinguished Professor in the Humanities, Duke University

Trinh T. Minh-ha (PhD, University of Illinois,

Professor of Women’s Studies and Rhetoric, University of California, Berkeley

Asian Film Archive

Karen Chan

Executive Director

Christina Mak

Operations Executive

Low Koon Yen

Outreach Senior Executive

Natalie Ng

Marketing & Communications Executive

Chew Tee Pao


Tan Yi Ping

Archive Officer

Michelle Poon

Theatre Manager

Viknesh Kobinathan


Benjamin Yap

Archive Officer

Rahim Bin Rahmat

Theatre Services Technician

Natalie Khoo

Programmes & Engagement Executive